Two Full Time Jobs

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

Once we surrendered to God’s call for us to be church planters, we began to work out a time line of events.  We started with the launch date for the new church and then went backward to the present.  One of the issues at hand was the transition from my current job to this new endeavor.  My pastor graciously offered for me and my family to stay on full time staff until August 2011 (approx. 10 months from when we made the announcement that we would be leaving.)  I cannot explain the blessing this is for us.  He allowed us to plan for the new church, call pastors, use people in our current church to help us, and even be gone on Sundays if we have meetings.  We are truly grateful for kindness.  However, the current struggle I am facing is trying to spread myself and my time out to do two jobs well.  The work does not begin the day the new church has it’s first service.  There are a host of things that must be done right now.  A web site needs designed, prayer cards need printed, meetings need set up,  a DVD presentation must be organized, and so on and so on.  How am I going to fulfill all my regular responsibilities, work on the things for Lifeway Baptist Church, and still be a husband and a father?  To be honest, I do not know.  This I do know–” I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Phil. 4:13)  I can live by fear or by faith.  I choose to live by faith.  If God has called me to do this, then He will certainly enable me to do this.  Where God guides, he always provides.

Comments
  1. Linda L Stine says:

    Amen!!!!

Leave a Reply

