At Peace In God’s Will

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

There is a calmness that comes from following Christ.  The flesh is so weak and I am prone to worry and doubt what God has called me to do, but I must strive to live the faith life.  In the book of Acts, the Bible gives us an example of being at peace in God’s will.  Peter had been arrested by Herod and thrown in the deepest, darkest prison cell.  He was bound to two soldiers, making an escape impossible.  Herod had already killed James and it was certain that Peter would be next.  What would I do if I knew I only had a few days or hours to live?  Would I beg and plead for mercy.  Would I cry out in despair?  Would I go into shock?  Would I renounce Christ?  Peter did none of these things.  He was at peace.  He knew that he had been obedient to the Lord and he rested in that fact.  This is obvious by Acts 12:6, “…the same night Peter was sleeping between two soldiers, bound with two chains.  Wait a second.  He was sleeping?  Is that right?  Yes, God sent him peace that passed all understanding.  I may or may not ever be in the same situation as Peter, but there is a valuable lesson to learn.  Trouble will come.  Problems will arise.  Persecution may be on the threshold.  But when I am in God’s will, I can rest in peace.  Oh, by the way, don’t forget the rest of the story…God miraculously sent an angel to deliver Peter that night.  God always takes care of those who rest in His will.

Leave a Reply

