What is Neophobia?

Posted: December 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

Neophobia is a fear of anything new. As the clock ticks down on 2010, there are many people who are afraid of the coming new year.  Let me honest for a few moments.  As I consider all aspects and details of starting a church from scratch, I too am fearful.  I know that this year is a make or break year for my family and me.  If Lifeway Baptist Church is going to have the proper start in 2012, we must prepare correctly in 2011.  That means raising support, selling our house, finding a new house, leaving the security of our home church, securing a meeting place for the new church, and numerous other things. When I stop and think about these things, I feel neophobia creeping in. We usually view fear as something harmful, which it can be.  However, fear can be helpful if we allow it to lead us to the Lord.  Fear exposes human insecurity and inability.  Fear abolishes pride and self-confidence. Fear reveals our need of security in someone else.  Jesus said of the centurion in Luke 7:9, “…I say unto you, I have not found so great faith , no not in Israel.” This man’s faith was born out of fear.  He was fearful of the sickness that his servant had.  This fear did not lead to panic but actually led to praise. This is the only place in the Bible where Jesus marveled at a person’s faith. So…2011 is coming.  Ready or not here it comes.  Are you fearful?  That’s OK.  Permit your greatest fear to produce your greatest faith.

Leave a Reply

