The Possessor of Heaven and Earth

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Genesis 14:19, “And he blessed him, and said, Blessed be Abram of the most high God, possessor of heaven and earth.” This phrase is repeated again in verse 22 of the same chapter.  Someone once said that life is about influence–who you know and who knows you.  We would all love to have a someone that we call any time and know that he would supply our every need.  May I remind you today, that if you are a Christian you do have such a friend! In this book of beginnings, God reveals himself to us through his names.  On that particular day, he gave to Abram a precious name, “The Possessor of Heaven and Earth.”  I am so grateful that no matter how great my need, God is greater.  He owns everything.  Nothing is too difficult for Him.  Recently my wife and I were praying for the money to purchase a display board for deputation.  Shortly afterward, we received a $250 pledge to take care of this cost.  Last week I was compiling a list of needs for Lifeway Baptist Church, the church we will be starting in Cranberry Township.  One of the needs I wrote down was sound equipment.  I called a church planter to see how much to budget for this and he graciously donated a system to us. Praise the Lord for people that are willing to be used.  Above all, I am thankful that I can rest on my God, the Possessor of Heaven and Earth.

Leave a Reply

